In recognition of our honorary EPNS member and internationally renowned French child neurologist, Professor Jean Aicardi (1926-2015), the EPNS in partnership with MacKeith Press, has established a series of award lectures. The biennial award recognises a respected and admired doctor who has attained major achievements in child neurology.  Recipients of the award must practice in Europe using the countries in the WHO European region. The award presentation and lecture takes place at the EPNS Congress which is held every two years.


The EPNS was both delighted and honoured that Professor Francesco Muntoni presented the 4th Aicardi Award Lecture at the 15th EPNS Congress during the welcome reception in Prague on 20 June 2023. Gaining his medical degree in Cagliari, Italy, in 1984, followed by Child Neurology and Psychiatry in 1989, he obtained the Paediatric Neurology specialist registration in the UK in 1994. He now works at University College London, UK specialising in neuromuscular disorders in preclinical, clinical, and translational research aspects. His research on genetics and the treatment of neuromuscular diseases, especially SMA and Duchenne diseases, are an outstanding scientific achievement and the EPNS is both honoured and delighted that he has accepted this prestigious EPNS award. Professor Muntoni’s lecture was entitled Lesson learned developing novel therapies for childhood neuromuscular disorders and was a highpoint of the EPNS Congress 2023. The EPNS congratulates Professor Muntoni and expresses sincere thanks for his wonderful lecture.

2022 (postponed from 2021)

Professor Marjo van der Knaap (Netherlands) was presented with the prestigious 3rd Aicardi Award at the 14th EPNS Congress in Glasgow.

A world leading expert on white matter disorders and pattern recognition in leukodystrophies Professor van der Knaap through her clinical acumen, attention to detail and generosity of spirit has identified many new diseases, their genetic basis and now their treatments. An inspiring role model who has shown great dedication in training young paediatric neurologists, the EPNS is delighted to congratulate Professor van der Knaap. The award presentation and inspiring lecture entitled ‘Leukodystrophies, a long journey’  took place at the EPNS Glasgow Congress Opening Session on Thursday 28 April 2022 at 19:00 and was a highlight of the congress.


Professor Lieven Lagae was awarded the 2nd Aicardi Award Lecture at the 13th EPNS the welcome reception in Athens on 17 September 2019. Lieven Lagae is Full Professor at the University of Leuven, Belgium (KUL), Head of the Paediatric Neurology Department of the KUL University Hospitals, and Director of the Childhood Epilepsy Program at the KUL University Hospitals. Lieven Lagae is the immediate past President of the European Pediatric Neurology Society He chairs the Taskforce on Medical Treatment of Childhood Epilepsy of the International League against Epilepsy (ILAE). From 2004 to 2015, he was the Editor-in-Chief of the European Journal of Paediatric Neurology.  In 2017, he was the recipient of the ‘Cures within Reach patient impact Clinical Award’. He published >200 papers in peer reviewed scientific journals and is the editor of the book: Cognition and Behaviour in Childhood epilepsy (Mac Keith Press 2017). He serves in many editorial boards of epilepsy and neurology journals. The very well received talk was entitled ‘Miss Understanding is the Greek Goddess of Clinical Research’ and covered the problems, challenges, successes and failures of clinical research in paediatric neurology.


Professor Alexis Arzimanoglou received the first Aicardi Award at the 12th EPNS Congress which was hosted in Lyon 20-24 June 2017. Professor Arzimanoglou delivered an inspiring talk, and was presented with the award at the opening ceremony of the Congress.