12-13 April 2021: Neuromuscular diseases: Moderator Professor Thomas Sejersen: 12 UEMS-EACCME® accreditation points.

14-15 April 2021: Neonatal Neurology: Moderator Professor Leena Haataja: 12 UEMS-EACCME® accreditation points.

General information: The EPNS has been organising training courses in paediatric neurology since 2003 specifically aiming at trainees but also at qualified paediatric neurologists who want to refresh their knowledge on certain topics. The aim is to cover most main topics in the syllabus over a three-year cycle and to promote contact between individuals in the speciality in different parts of the world. The 2021-2023 cycle of training courses is taking place in Jurmala, Latvia, however in response to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic after careful consideration the decision was taken to transition the EPNS Jurmala Training Course 2021 to a fully virtual event.

The EPNS expresses sincere thanks to the EPNS & Local Organisers, Moderators, Faculty Members and Delegates who took part in this successful event. 



The best participant case presentation from each course was awarded a certificate and a bursary to attend the EPNS Training Course Jurmala (Latvia) 2022. The bursary terms for 2022 will be announced nearer the time. Congratulations to the following winners:

Neuromuscular Diseases Course: Ulrich Pfeiffer from Germany

Neonatal Neurology: Rebecca Finnegan from Ireland

To retain a Latvian theme during the virtual event, participants were invited to participate in a Quiz about Latvia. Congratulations to the following winners:

Neuromuscular Diseases Course: Matthias de Wachter from Belgium

Neonatal Neurology: Karina Kersbergen from the Netherlands

EPNS Organiser: Ass Prof Coriene Catsman-Berrevoets

Local Organiser: Dr Jurgis Strautmanis

12-13 April 2021: Neuromuscular Diseases: moderator Professor Thomas Sejersen

Programme: CLICK HERE


  • Prof Guenther Bernert
  • Dr Imelda Hughes
  • Prof Montse Olive
  • Prof Rosaline Quinlivan
  • Prof Thomas Sejersen

14-15 April 2021: Neonatal Neurology: moderator Professor Leena Haataja

Programme: CLICK HERE


  • Ass Prof Coriene Catsman – Berrevoets
  • Ass Prof Floris Groenendaal
  • Prof Leena Haataja
  • Dr Anthony Hart
  • Prof Tally Lerman-Sagie
  • Dr Brigitte Vollmer

pdf copies of  presentations are now available on the EPNS website https://www.epns.info/
Select ‘Member Login’ button
Input Username and Password
Select ‘EPNS Training Course Presentations’ from the top menu.
Scroll down the page to find the links to the presentations.


The EPNS VIRTUAL Training Course Jurmala (Latvia) 2021, Alicante, Spain, 12/04/2021-15/04/2021 has been accredited by the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME®) with 24 European CME credits (ECMEC®s). Each medical specialist should claim only those hours of credit that he/she actually spent in the educational activity.” “Through an agreement between the Union Européenne des Médecins Spécialistes and the American Medical Association, physicians may convert EACCME® credits to an equivalent number of AMA PRA Category 1 CreditsTM.